BSocSc Programme and Curriculum Committee

Terms of Reference:

- a) To take charge of the degree programme including the design, implementation and review of the curricula and the achievement of the intended student learning outcomes.
- b) To liaise with all departments concerned on programme matters such as course offerings for each academic year.
- c) To liaise with the Registry on all academic matters including review of academic regulations and examination matters.
- d) To review admissions policy for the degree programme.
- e) To deal with all other matters related to the degree programme.

Membership: (2023-24)

Chairman: BSocSc Programme Director Prof. Stefan Kühner

Members: Dean of the Faculty of Social Prof. William Hayward

Sciences

Heads of the four Departments Prof. Siu Oi Ling (Psychology)

Prof. Qiu Dongxiao Larry (Economics) Prof. Zhang Baohui (Government and

International Affairs)

Prof. Chen Hon Fai (Sociology and

Social Policy)

BSocSc Associate Programme

Director

Chair Professors of the four

Departments

Prof. Gregory Whitten

Prof. William Hayward (Psychology) Prof. Siu Oi Ling (Applied Psychology) Prof. Qiu Dongxiao Larry (Economics)

Prof. Shalendra Sharma (Political

Science)

Faculty Admissions Co-ordinator Prof. Wong Wai Chung Gary

Two representatives elected by academic staff from each of the four

Departments

Psychology Dept:

Prof. Lun Miu Chi, Vivian Prof. Ng Ting Kin, Ken

Economics Dept:
Prof. Gregory Whitten
Prof. Wong Wai Chung Gary

Government and International Affairs

Dept:

Prof. Chu Pok Prof. Kwok Chi

Sociology and Social Policy Dept:

Prof. Roman David Prof. Lai Yuen Shan, Ruby

Co-opted Member Prof. Chan Chak Kwan Dickson

Two student representatives elected by the relevant student society

TBC TBC

Secretary: To be appointed by the Chairman Mr. Cheung Chun Ho

June 2024

Staff-Student Consultation Committee for BSocSc

Terms of Reference:

a) To promote understanding between students and teaching staff.

b) To consider feedback and suggestions from students regarding teaching, learning, and course evaluation and issues of importance for enhancing teaching and learning quality.

c) To consider any other matters of concern to students.

Membership: (2023-24)

Chairman: To be elected among members of the

Committee

Prof. Stefan Kühner

Members: Heads of the four Departments Prof. Siu Oi Ling (Applied Psychology)

Prof. Qiu Dongxiao Larry (Economics) Prof. Zhang Baohui (Government and

International Affairs)

Prof. Chen Hon Fai (Sociology and

Social Policy)

Programme Director of HSSM Major Prof. Chan Chak Kwan Dickson (APIAS)

BSocSc Programme Director Prof. Stefan Kühner

BSocSc Associate Programme

Director

One member elected from each of the

four Departments

Prof. Gregory Whitten

Prof. Lui Fai Hong, Kelvin (Psychology) Prof. Wong Chi Leung Adam

(Economics)

Prof. Chung Chien-peng (Government

and International Affairs)

Prof. Chen Xi, Celia (Sociology and

Social Policy)

Eight student representatives TBC (Year 1)

TBC (Year 1) TBC (ECO) TBC (GOV) TBC (PSY) TBC (SOC) TBC (SPPS) TBC (HSSM) TBC (IEP)

One student representative from

mainland/overseas

TBC

One MPhil student representative

TBC

Secretary: To be appointed by the Chairman Mr. Cheung Chun Ho

June 2024

Board of Examiners for BSocSc

Terms of Reference:

- a) To maintain the academic standards of the programme at a level appropriate to the type of award.
- b) To approve examination question papers after considering the views and recommendations of External Academic Advisers, where appropriate.
- c) To maintain general supervision of the system of continuous assessment, where it applies.
- d) To maintain the proper conduct of examinations.
- e) To determine students' examination results.
- f) To assess the progress of students and to report its decisions, including its recommendations for Honours Degree classification, to the Undergraduate Examinations Board.

g) To consider appeals referred to it by the Registrar.

Membership: (2023-24)

Chairman: Programme Director or his/her Prof. Gregory Whitten

delegated representative

Members: All staff concerned with the setting

and marking of any part of the examinations in the host Departments

One representative from each of the

other two faculties

Prof. Yuanfei Wang (CHI) Prof. Feng Wu (ACT)

Secretary: To be appointed by the Chairman Mr. Cheung Chun Ho

October 2023

Undergraduate Admissions Sub-committee (Social Sciences Programmes)

Terms of Reference:

- a) To formulate student recruitment strategy and policy for the Faculty of Social Sciences;
- b) To determine the criteria of various admission schemes (JUPAS, Direct Admissions, Mainland and Overseas students);
- c) To promote the academic programmes offered in the Faculty of Social Sciences;
- d) To evaluate applicants, interview candidates and make decisions on admission where appropriate;
- e) To work closely with Undergraduate Admissions Committee on all matters related to admissions of students to the Faculty of Social Sciences; and
- f) To deal with all other matters related to undergraduate admissions and recruitment of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Membership: (2023-24)

Chairman: Faculty Admissions Coordinator Professor Wong Wai Chung, Gary

Members: Major Admissions Coordinators *Economics*:

(responsible for all years admissions) Professor Wong Chi Leung, Adam Mr. Leung Hin Shing, Billy

Government and International Affairs:

Professor Chu Pok

Professor Tam Wai Keung

Health and Social Services Management: Ms. Lau Lai Leng, Jay (1st and 2nd years) Professor Fong Meng Soi, Florence (3rd year)

Psychology:

Professor Ye Jiawen, Carmen

Sociology:

Professor Chiu Tuen Yi, Jenny Professor Lai Yuen Shan, Ruby Mr. Yip Yui Fung, Gary

Social and Public Policy Studies: Professor Chiu Tuen Yi, Jenny Professor Lai Yuen Shan, Ruby Mr. Yip Yui Fung, Gary Professor Wong Chi Leung, Adam Mr. Leung Hin Shing, Billy

International Economy and Politics: Professor Chu Pok Professor Tam Wai Keung Professor Wong Chi Leung, Adam Mr. Leung Hin Shing, Billy

Professor Chiu Tuen Yi, Jenny

Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences or his/her nominee (ex

officio):	
Secretary:	Ms. Kong Chui Yee, Ivy

September 2023